Observatory phone +47 790 26470

Scientific personnel

Name

E-mail

Title
Fred Sigernes fred@unis.no Prof. UNIS / Head of KHO
Mikko Syrjäsuo mikkos@unis.no Head engineer KHO
Noora Partamies noorap@unis.no Associate Prof.
Dag A. Lorentzen dagl@unis.no Prof. UNIS
Lisa Baddeley lisab@unis.no Associate Prof.
Emma Bland emmab@unis.no Post Doc
Erkka Heino erkka.heino@unis.no Post Doc
Katie Herlingshaw katie.herlingshaw@unis.no PhD. Student
Lindis Bjoland lindis.bjoland@unis.no Post Doc
Fasil Tesema Kebede fasil.tesema@unis.no PhD. Student
Nina Kristine Eriksen NinaKristine.Eriksen@unis.no PhD. Student

If you want to know what we look like, click here. Or mail us all a message.

Technical Department On-Duty Phone (ODP): +47 95283511

Norwegian State Construction Contact (Ida Asklund):
Phone: +47 91638084
E-mail: IdaElen.Asklund@statsbygg.no

Importance notification regarding visitor requests (tourists)
KHO is operated remotely through internet. That means we are not up there every day. It takes approximately 30 minutes to drive by car in the summer season from Longyearbyen. In the winter season we use a snow cat (bandwagon) that we have in a garage at Mine 7. The reason is that the road from Mine 7 to KHO is blocked by snow. A trip up in the winter time takes 30 minutes extra including personnel for safety and logistics. In total that sums up to half a day work load for at least 2 persons to accommodate visitors to KHO. As a consequence, we do not have the capacity to serve external, tourist based request for visits to the observatory. It is also a cost issue. Sorry!

Media requests
Please contact UNIS media department at least one month ahead in time.